Nanoscale (Opto-) Electronics

@ Vienna University of Technology


The Nanoscale Electronics & Optoelectronics Group at Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien; PrincipaI Investigator: Thomas Mueller) explores 2D materials, such as graphene and layered transition metal dichalcogenides, for applications in electronics, optoelectronics and photonics. These materials are crystalline and thus of high quality, yet they can be produced at low cost and with large-area dimensions, making them attractive for a wide variety of applications. The aim of our research is to advance state-of-the-art of nanoscale device technology and provide physical insights in carrier dynamics, optical response and many body effects in these materials.

AFM image of a continuous MoS2 monolayer film grown by CVD

Our work covers a wide range of activites in 2D material science & technology, from fundamental studies to devices and systems:

Fundamental studies

exciton physics, quantum light emission, non-linear optics

Optoelectronic devices

for photovoltaic energy conversion and light emission

Electronic integrated circuits

for embedding intelligence into everyday objects

Photonic integrated circuits

for high-speed intra- and inter-chip optical interconnects


2D Materials: Properties and Devices

Cambridge University Press

Chapters: "Graphene optoelectronic devices" & "TMDs: optoelectronic devices"

2D Materials for Nanoelectronics

CRC Press

Chapter: "TMD-based photodetectors, light emitters and photovoltaics"

Selected Publications

A complete list of our publications is available on Google Scholar:


Assoc. Prof. Thomas Mueller

Email: thomas.mueller (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38739

Room: CCEG13

Dr. Dmitry K. Polyushkin

Email: dmitry.polyushkin (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38786

Dr. Aday Molina-Mendoza

Email: aday.molina-mendoza (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38725

Dr. Do-Hyun Kwak

Email: dohyun.kwak (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38785

Dr. Lukas Mennel

Email: lukas.mennel (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38785

Thomas Pucher

Email: thomas.pucher (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38723


  • Matthias Paur

  • Stefan Wachter

  • Joanna Symonowicz

  • Simone Schuler

  • Marco M. Furchi

  • Andreas Pospischil

  • Alexander Urich

  • Simon Haberfellner

  • Florian Höller

  • Nikolaus Lehner

  • Armin Zechmeister

  • Stephan Preisinger

  • Alexander Unterkreuter

  • "Hannspeter Winter Preis", Simone Schuler, 2019

  • "Christiana Hörbiger Prize", Simone Schuler, 2019

  • "Verbund Women’s Fellowship", Simone Schuler, 2018

  • "Best PhD Student Poster contribution" @ Graphene, Lukas Mennel, 2018

  • "Nano-Prize of the Erwin Schrödinger Society for Nanosciences", Simone Schuler, 2018

  • "Best Student Talk Award" @ Graphene Week, Simone Schuler, 2018

  • "Ernst Blickle Prize", Florian Höller, 2017

  • "Marie Curie Fellowship", Aday Molina-Mendoza, 2017

  • "Poster Award" @ Graphene Study, Stefan Wachter, 2017

  • "Best PhD Student Oral Contribution" @ Graphene 2017, Stefan Wachter, 2017

  • "Science Award of the State Government of Vorarlberg", Marco Furchi, 2017

  • "Lise Meitner Fellowship", Aday Molina-Mendoza, 2017

  • "Anton Paar Prize in Physics", Andreas Pospischil, 2016

  • "Best Poster Award" @ Winterschool on Solid State Physics, Simone Schuler, 2016

  • "Lions Prize", Marco Furchi, 2015

  • "Marshall Plan Scholarship Award", Marco Furchi, 2015

  • "Best Poster Award" @ Joint Annual Meeting of the ÖPG & SPG, Simone Schuler, 2015

  • "Marshall Plan Scholarship Award", Andreas Pospischil, 2015

  • "Nano-Prize of the Erwin Schrödinger Society for Nanosciences", Marco Furchi, 2014

  • "Student Award of the Austrian Physical Society", Andreas Pospischil, 2012

  • "START Prize", Austrian Science Fund, Thomas Mueller, 2011

  • "Recognition Award for Science", Lower Austrian State Government, Thomas Mueller, 2011

  • "Fritz-Kohlrausch Prize", Austrian Physical Society, Thomas Mueller, 2010

  • "Young Scientist Award", ASciNA, Thomas Mueller, 2010

  • "Erwin-Schrödinger Fellowship", Austrian Science Fund, Thomas Mueller, 2007

Awards, Prizes, Fellowships

Jobs & theses

Ph.D. & postdoc positions

Currently no positions available.


Photonics Lab 1
Photonics Lab 2
Electronics Lab

Contact us

Mailing address:

Vienna University of Technology

Institute of Photonics

Gusshausstrasse 27-29 / 387

1040 Vienna, Austria

Administrative contacts:

Melanie Molnar

Email: melanie.molnar (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38703

Christina Huber

Email: christina.huber (at)

Phone: +43-1-58801-38702